Return to Headlines

Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award Winners

The Emerson Excellence in Teaching Awards program, sponsored by Emerson, annually recognizes more than 100 educators in the St. Louis metropolitan area – from kindergarten teachers to college professors – who are examples of excellence in their field.

Recipients are selected by the chief administrators of their school districts or educational institutions. The employing educational institution must be located in the St. Louis metropolitan area, which is defined to include: (in Missouri) Franklin County, Jefferson County, St. Charles County, St. Louis City, St. Louis County; and (in Illinois) Jersey County, Madison County, Monroe County, and St. Clair County.

2022 Emerson Award Honoree

Jennifer (Jenny) Thies, kindergarten teacher at Stone Creek Elementary


Emerson Gold Star Grant Program

Current and recent Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award recipients who teach grades K–12 have the opportunity to apply for an Emerson Gold Star Grant. Emerson Gold Star Grants are presented in two categories:

Individual Category (grades Pre-K through 12). At least two $5,000 cash grant awards to selected individual teachers, plus a $2,500 grant for each winner’s employing school.

Teamwork Category (grades Pre-K through 12). At least one $10,000 cash grant award to a teaching team (two or more teachers, one of which must be an eligible Gold Star Award applicant), plus a $5,000 grant for each winning team’s employing school. Learn more.


Emerson Excellence Past Honorees 

WSD Staff Member School Grade/Subject Year 

Gold Star

Grant Awarded

Rene Wilson Journey Elementary Second Grade 2020  
Lauren Farrelly Liberty High School French 2020  
Kaci Lueking Wabash Elementary First Grade 2019 2020 
Katherine Zak Lakeview Elementary First Grade 2018  
Jessica Karll Discovery Ridge Third Grade 2015  
Jeremy Boesch Timberland High School AP English 2014  
Bobbi Love Green Tree Elementary Third Grade 2010  
David Nielsen Timberland High School Mathematics 2009  

 Emerson logo